Old Blood and Guts!

Woke up pretty late in the morning, it was almost noon time, I was clearing both my eyes. I picked up my pair of glasses which I placed beside my side table the previous evening just before going to bed. I saw a familiar an old red faded leather bound book that seemed to be staring directly at me. It was no other than old Blood n Gut’s, It was a book called “War as I Knew It”, written by General George S. Patton Jr.

Wow…Whoaaa, Nice Daddy Felix… just plainly imagining the faces of the young millennial readers would stare at me with a bewildered blank face. Errrr.. Who is he?

 

pablo (36)

General George S. Patton Jr. was an American World War II who commanded the Third United States Army. He was an enigmatic, flamboyant, charismatic colorful United States General who fought against the Nazis in the European Theater of War in  World War II. I utterly admire and adore the way he writes especially how he deploys and uses his words simply applying his thoughts to action in the field of battle.  Here are some of his words I find that I find inspiring.

1

The time to take counsel of your fears is before you make an important battle decision. That’s the time to listen to every fear you can imagine! When you have collected all the facts and fears and made your decision, turn off all your fears and go ahead!

-George S. Patton

 

2

 Prepare for the unknown by studying how others in the past have coped with the unforeseeable and the unpredictable.

-George S. Patton

 

3

Accept the challenges so that you can feel the exhilaration of victory.-

George S. Patton

 

4

Nobody ever defended anything successfully, there is only attack and attack and attack some more.

George S. Patton

5

 

“Now if you are going to win any battle you have to do one
thing. You have to make the mind run the body. Never let the
body tell the mind what to do. The body will always give up.
It is always tired morning, noon, and night. But the body is
never tired if the mind is not tired. When you were younger
the mind could make you dance all night, and the body was
never tired… You’ve always got to make the mind take over
and keep going.”

 

6

Use the Steam Roller Strategy, that is make up your mind on course and direction of attack and stick to it. In Tactics ,do not steamroller. Attack weakness.

War and History buffs would find the book “Operational Tenets of Generals Heintz Guderian and George S. Patton Jr” interesting. The book was written by Major George A Higgins. It would give you a glimpse into the mind of both Generals. The only books I read were about “War As  I Knew It”. I will take the time to read the book in my spare time…His thoughts about using the Steamroller Strategy is much more expounded in this particular book.

His thoughts and details about using the Steamroller Strategy are expounded in this book.

giphy (38)

 

One striking monologue that struck me in the 1971  Multi-Oscar awarded Hollywood version of George C. Scott “Patton”. He was with another General Omar Bradley(played by Karl Malden).

They were on their way to inspect a battle zone that occurred the previous evening. He directly instructed his driver Staff Seargent to head in a different direction.  Here are his words that stuck in my mind.

 

“It was here. The battlefield was here. The Carthaginians defending the city were attacked by three Roman legions. The Carthaginians were proud and brave but they couldn’t hold. They were massacred. The Arab women stripped them of the tunics and swords, and lances. And the soldiers lay naked in the sun. Two-thousand years ago. I was here.

You don’t believe me, do you, Brad? You know what the poet said:

Through the travail of ages,
Midst the pomp and toils of war,
Have I fought and strove and perished
Countless times upon a star.

As if through a glass, and darkly
The age-old strife I see—
Where I fought in many guises, many names—
but always me.

Do you know who the poet was?
Me.

 

References:

Leave a Reply

