Opportunities and Moments

17504494_1598542776842571_8975438163230185899_o

Took a picture of the Yacht Club in  Subic Base Special Economic Zone while the vehicle  was running at 40 miles per hour. It was more of a split second decision for me to  take it or loose the picture. The funny thing is I used an old  Blackberry Curve 9700 as a makeshift camera.   My brother-in-law blurted out ” I have the uncanny ability and an eye of a hawk on  taking awesome pictures” on what I   see.

It’s true what  Fred R. Barnard ,famed  Victorian English Illustrator once said , indeed ” A picture is worth ten thousand words”

Begin doing what you want to do now. We are not living in eternity. We have only this moment, sparkling like a star in our hand and melting like a snowflake…

Francis Bacon

Pictures in Blogging and Writing 

I have been blogging for the past few years. Experimented on some pictures ,themes and played around with the settings to get  the type of website I had in mind. It was only this month of March I decided to take a chance and integrated and improvised selected pictures on  the articles and blogs I wrote . The month of March was good to me because I somehow increased  readers and followers by almost ten folds.

Come to think of it . Somehow it’s like playing an internet digital game, where you are pushed to improve your score. The more you play , the better your score improves. As the game progresses there are obstacles which make the digital game challenging. Well sometimes frustrating  up to a point you just give up. Once you finally reach the end chapter of the game. There is a sense of achievement and  was slightly exhilarated. I am beginning to experience and  feel the same reaction each time I blog.

It seems I am encountering the same challenges and obstacles along the way. I had a nice discussion with one of my mentors. I asked her if there is a difference between blogging and constructive writing.  I was somehow surprised by her answer when she exclaimed “Blogging falls under the category of writing“. I found out many people have different perspective and definition between blogging and writing.

Controversial Icon 

Joe was  only one of the several photographers  who covered the event.I am reminded  of the famous photograph that was taken in the last days of World War II.  The picture was taken  by Joe Rosenthal. It depicts six United States Marines raising a U.S. flag atop Mount Suribachi, during the Battle of IwoJima in World War II.

What made the picture controversial was there were two versions. A small flag was taken and used in the first version. This was taken by Staff Sgt Louis R Lowery a US Marine  of Leatherneck Magazine. What was recognized was the second version.The second flag raising and planting was taken by Joe Rosenthal, this time using a larger flag.

pablo (35).png

Who  can  never  forget the late Robin Williams in the movie Dead Poet’s Society(1989)  It’s a warm touching scene how Robin Williams inspired his class after  reciting   O Captain My Captain by Walt Whitman :

O Captain! my Captain! our fearful trip is done,
The ship has weather’d every rack, the prize we sought is won,

The port is near, the bells I hear, the people all exulting,
While follow eyes the steady keel, the ve
ssel grim and daring;
But O heart! heart! heart!
O the bleeding drops of red,
Where on the deck the Captain lies,
Fallen cold and dead.

O Captain! my Captain! rise up and hear the bells;
Rise up — for you the flag is flung — for you the bugle trills,
For you the bouquets and ribbon’d wreaths — for you the shores a-crowding,
For you they call, the swaying mass, their eager faces turning,
Here Captain! dear father!
The arm beneath your head!
It is some dream that on the deck,
You’ve fallen cold and dead.

My Captain does not answer, his lips are pale and still,
My father does not feel my arm, he has no pulse nor will,
The ship is anchor’d safe and sound, its voyage closed and done,
From fearful trip the victor ship comes in with object won;
Exult O shores, and ring O bells!
But I with mournful tread,
Walk the deck my Captain lies,
Fallen cold and dead.

giphy (7).gif

3 thoughts on “Opportunities and Moments

Leave a Reply

