Social Media,Technology in Old School Yesterday and Today

pablo-2
Buffer for Pablo for Graphic Arts Social Media and Technology

What is Social Media?

To me Social Media is a  medium or  different Social Media platforms and tools used to promote, convey an idea or concept.  A means to communicate an idea to a given niche. Just to mention a few popular Social Media Platforms:

  • Social Media Networking sites-Facebook, Google Plus,Multiply(Discontinued) Friendster(Discontinued),Linkedin ,Instagram, Snapchat
  • Micro Blogging Sites- Twitter, Tumbler,P interest
  • Publishing – WordPress, Blogger, Tumbler,Medium, Ghost,WIX,Weebly
  • Collaboration Social Media Tools-Wikipedia, Wikibooks
  • Social Media Management Tools- Hootsuite, TweetDeck, Buffer,Social Pilot,Ladder
  • Project Management Apps=Trello , Asana , Slack , Basecamp

What is Technology?

Technology is subjective depending on the niche, industry  and subject.  Let me confine technology to computers. Technology evolves when there is a need to improve or simplify a job or a specific task . Technology corresponds to addressing a problem and suggests a solution  to the need of an individual or group of people.

Social Media and Technology advances  brings changes in our lives.It simplifies and makes life bearable and easy  coping up with challenges and obstacles which confront in  our daily living. I was born in the Nineteen Sixties where digital computer age was in  it’s infant stage.

What made me interested in Computers and Technology? 

The only computers that  existed in the 1960’s where mainframe computers confined for Manufacturing, Military  and  Commercial Industry  to help  expedite solutions in  daily operations and activities. The only exposure that sparked my interests in computers was when I was young. In the sixties   was the movie called  “Stanley Kubrick 2001 Space Odyssey”  A science fiction movie look in the future.

There were other movies that enticed me into computers and Information technology .You could check out 10 Great Films about Computers.At a young age I knew I wanted to learn more about computers and information technology.

pablo
Pablo for Buffer

During my younger years I studied in a technical school called Don Bosco  Technical College. We were brought up to use old and current tools for a specific task. I concentrated on Industrial Drafting. We were trained to use a T-Square, Protractor, Vellum(a thin see through paper) Drafting tables.   Now a days today’s generation would use  Computer Added Design or CAD for their designs.

It seems to be no different in Social Media and Technology. There are regular constant  changes, improvement and  updates to simplify our work  on the tasks  that are needed to be done. In the early 1980’s the computers were not as fast and powerful unlike today’s generation computers. I trained myself on a Standalone level. Meaning  work  on documents using Word Processors such as Volkswriter , Wordstar  , for  Spreadsheets using Lotus 123 or Microsoft Excel , For presentations using Microsoft PowerPoint, Database using DBase III Plus, Clipper and  Paradox.

As the months and years past ,there were needs to integrate  software which brought about the likes   Microsoft Office, Lotus SmartSuite. I realize that  working on a single tasks using these software made me a better person today from yesterday.

A little background of myself. My name is Felix Ira or call me Daddy Felix for short. I am a Blogger, Social Media Enthusiast. I underwent my  Virtual Assistant Professional Training under Ms. Rochefele Rivera owner and founder of Professional VA’s- Your Virtual Assistant Partner . I am  currently managing three different Social Media Platforms in Facebook , Social Media Enthusiast who is active in Twitter, Linkedin,  I love photography and graphics using Canva, Pablo for Buffer. I am a husband of Marcela Ira, father of two wonderful kids, Business Partner  and Friend.

I am looking forward to assist  in your social media needs as a Virtual Assistant Professional.

2 thoughts on “Social Media,Technology in Old School Yesterday and Today

Leave a Reply

